RERO21 project

fr de

In the current context of the changing library landscape in Switzerland, RERO will turn into a competence and service centre for libraries by 2021. This project was approved by RERO’s supervisory authority, the CIIP, in september 2018.

This blog aims to publish posts about RERO 21, grouped under the RERO 21 label, as well as about the different sub-projects that constitute it:

RERO ILS

Since the end of 2017, the RERO team is developing a free library management system, which will be available as a web service hosted in Martigny. From a technical point of view, RERO ILS is based on the Invenio framework and the experience acquired by the team.

This project, at the heart of RERO 21, is intended to be a system open to both libraries and library networks. It will be operational by the end of 2020. A demonstration system is publicly available at the following address: ils.test.rero.ch.

MEF: Multilingual Entity File

RERO 21 will offer its services throughout Switzerland, which means that RERO ILS must be multilingual. From the authorities’ point of view, the challenge is in no way trivial. RERO is exploring the feasibility of a multilingual authority file consisting of the alignment, by means of VIAF, of different national authority files. RERO believes that the MEF can be useful and has decided to develop this service in an open approach and to make it available, for the time being in a test version, at mef.test.rero.ch.

SONAR: Swiss Open Access Repository

The SONAR project is part of the P-5 program of swissuniversities. It consists in the development of a national institutional archive, which aims to collect, promote and ensure the preservation of open access scientific publications of authors affiliated to public research institutions in Switzerland. SONAR also intends to offer an institutional archive service (“IR as a Service*“).

RERO21 Projekt

fr en

Vor dem Hindergrund der Veränderung der schweizerischen Bibliothekslandschaft unternimmt RERO seine Verwandlung für 2021 in ein Kompetenz- und Servicezentrum für Bibliotheken. Dieses Projekt wurde von der CIIP, Aufsichtsbehörde von RERO, im September 2018 genehmigt.

Dieser Blog veröffentlicht Beiträge über RERO 21, unter der gleichnamigen Etikette RERO 21, sowie über die verschiedenen Teilprojekte:

RERO ILS

Die RERO-Zentrale entwickelt seit Ende 2017 ein Open Source Bibliotheksverwaltungssystem, welches als in Martigny gehosteter Webservice zur Vergügung gestellt wird. Aus technischer Sicht basiert RERO ILS auf das Invenio Framwork und auf die gewonnenen Erfahrung der Zentrale.

Dieses Projekt, im Fokus von RERO 21, versteht sich als offenes System, sowohl für eigenständige Institutionen als auch für Bibliotheksnetzwerke. Es wird Ende 2020 in Betrieb gehen. Eine öffentliche Testinstallation ist jedoch bereits online unter folgendem Link: ils.test.rero.ch

MEF: Multilingual Entity File

Da RERO 21 Services für die gesamte Schweiz anbieten wird, muss RERO ILS mehrsprachig sein. Aus der Sicht der Autoritäten ist das Problem nicht trivial. RERO untersucht von daher die Machbarkeit einer mehrsprachigen Autoritätsdatei, welche auf den Abgleich mittels VIAF verschiedener nationaler Autoritätsdateien beruht. RERO denkt, dass MEF auch für Dritte nützlich sein kann, und beschloss, diesen Service offen zu entwickeln und ihn unter folgender Adresse zur Verfügung zu stellen: mef.test.rero.ch.

SONAR: Swiss Open Access Repository

Das Projekt SONAR ist Teil des P-5 Programms von swissuniversities. Es handelt sich um die Entwicklung eines nationalen Repository mit dem Ziel, die wissenschaftliche Open Access Publikationen von Autoren, die einer Schweizer öffentlichen Forschungseinrichtung angehören, zu sammeln, werben und langfristig archivieren. Zweck von SONAR ist es auch, eigene institutionelle Repositorien anzubieten („IR as a Service“).