New cataloguing developments

rero-ils release acquisition display metadata predictions
de fr

A new sprint ends for rero ils with a version full of new features. Thanks to an increasingly stable technical foundation, the development team can now focus on user-oriented functionality. The full release notes are available as usual on Github: v0.10.0.

Interface improvements

UI work on the public and professional interfaces continues. This version brings many adjustments, and in particular a redesign of the metadata editor (cataloguing interface) to improve its readability. The editor is now displayed across the full width of the screen and the fields are easier to distinguish visually with the titles of the main fields now in bold and some sub-fields that can be displayed inline.

Displaying sub-fields inline instead of in blocks and field titles in bold

Displaying sub-fields inline instead of in blocks and field titles in bold

Importing records

Being able to import records from external catalogues streamlines much of the cataloguing work for librarians. rero ils offers the possibility to do so via the SRU protocol. The librarian can search for the desired record in the selected catalogue (currently only BnF) using a simple query (keywords for the author, title, date, ISBN…). They can choose the record that they want to import. This record can then be freely edited in the cataloguing interface before being saved.

New feature: receive an issue

Another brand new feature of the v0.10.0 release is the journal arrivals module. The holding’s frequency field, based on RDA standards, enables the system to automatically predict the dates of the next regular issues and to receive them with one click. It is of course also possible to receive an irregular issue. When an issue is marked as received, the system automatically creates an item in the holding.

Quick reception of regular issues according to frequency

The video above shows an example of the quick receive function:

  1. Obtenir (Get) displays the items
  2. Predictions for future issues are displayed
  3. A click on the quick receive button creates the new item for the next issue. If necessary, the other button can be used to edit the item before marking it as received.

Items: duly noted

A notes field has been added to the items’ template. Such notes can be of four types:

  • Public note: is displayed in the detailed view of the public and professional interface.
  • Private note: is displayed only in the detailed view of the professional interface.
  • Checkin Note: displays an alert upon item checkin.
  • Checkout note: displays an alert upon item checkout.

These notes address an essential need expressed by several of our pilot libraries as well as by our partners at UC Louvain.

Item notes in the professional interface

Item notes in the professional interface

Le catalogage s'étoffe

rero-ils release acquisition affichage métadonnées prédictions
de en

Un nouveau sprint se termine pour rero ils avec une version bien fournie en nouveautés. Grâce à des fondations techniques de plus en plus stables, l'équipe de développement peut se concentrer sur des fonctionnalités orientées vers les utilisateurs et les utilisatrices. Les notes complètes de cette nouvelle version sont consultables comme d’habitude sur la page Github : v0.10.0.

Améliorations d’interface

Le travail sur les interfaces publique et professionnelle se poursuit. Cette version leur apporte de nombreux ajustements et notamment une refonte de l'éditeur de métadonnées (interface de catalogage) en vue d’améliorer sa lisibilité. L'éditeur occupe maintenant toute la largeur de l'écran et les champs sont mieux séparés visuellement ; les titres des champs principaux sont désormais en gras et certains sous-champs peuvent s’afficher en ligne.

Affichage de sous-champs en ligne plutôt que les uns sous les autres et titres des champs en gras

Affichage de sous-champs en ligne plutôt que les uns sous les autres et titres des champs en gras

Importation de notices

Le fait de pouvoir importer des notices de catalogues externes facilite et fluidifie une grande partie du travail de catalogage des bibliothécaires. rero ils offre la possibilité de le faire via le protocole SRU. Il est possible de faire une requête par mots-clés (auteur, titre, date, ISBN, etc.) dans le catalogue choisi (à l’heure actuelle, seulement la BnF) et choisir la notice à importer. Celle-ci peut ensuite être librement éditée dans l’interface de catalogage avant son enregistrement.

Arrivée des fonctions de bulletinage

Autre nouveauté de cette version v0.10.0, les fonctionnalités de bulletinage des périodiques font leur apparition. Un champ fréquence dans l'état de collection, reprenant le standard RDA, permet de prédire automatiquement les dates des prochains numéros réguliers et de les réceptionner rapidement, d’un simple clic. Il est bien sûr aussi possible de recevoir un numéro irrégulier. Le système crée automatiquement un exemplaire pour chaque numéro reçu.

Réception rapide des fascicules réguliers selon leur fréquence

Dans la vidéo ci-dessus, un exemple de bulletinage rapide :

  1. Obtenir affiche la liste des exemplaires
  2. On affiche les prédictions des prochains numéros
  3. Un clic sur le bouton de bulletinage rapide crée l’exemplaire. En cas de besoin, l’autre bouton permet d'éditer l’exemplaire avant de le bulletiner.

Des bonnes notes pour les exemplaires

Pour terminer, mentionnons qu’un champ notes a été ajouté au modèle des exemplaires. Ces notes peuvent être de quatre types :

  • Note publique : s’affiche dans la vue détaillée de l’interface publique et professionnelle.
  • Note professionnelle : s’affiche seulement dans la vue détaillée de l’interface professionnelle.
  • Note de retour : affiche une alerte lors du retour.
  • Note de prêt : affiche une alerte lors du prêt.

Ces notes répondent à un besoin essentiel exprimé par plusieurs de nos bibliothèques pilotes ainsi que par nos partenaires de l’UC Louvain.

Les notes d’exemplaires dans l’interface professionnelle

Les notes d’exemplaires dans l’interface professionnelle