Appraisal on the RERO ILS workshops

rero-ils workshops
fr de

13 workshops, 11 towns, 8 cantons… and only one country of course. This completes the cycle of introductory workshops to rero ils started at the end of November 2019 and carried out in both German- and French-speaking Switzerland. The RERO central office draws a generally positive balance of this action.

Feedback from participants

Overall, participants gave good feedback of the workshops via our online form. Out of a total of 71 responses:

  • 66% of the participants felt that the workshop met their own expectations well or very well (top bar).
  • 76% of the participants are satisfied or very satisfied overall (bottom bar).
Chart: meeting expectations and overall satisfaction with the workshops

Meeting expectations and overall satisfaction with the workshops

Several participants encountered and noted technical problems that sometimes affected the running of the workshop. In addition, usability errors were highlighted as were some important functions that were missing from the system. Many expectations were expressed with regard to the other modules (cataloguing, acquisition, periodical management).

Within the libraries involved in the transition to rero ils, some people pointed out aspects that function differently than in the current system (Virtua) and expressed concern about the current state of developments for the upcoming transition.

Several people highlighted the modern and innovative aspect of rero ils. Overall, the interactivity of the workshop was very much appreciated.

Appraisal by the RERO central office

At the central office, we realised the difficulty of organising such events on a system in full development, with functionalities that evolve over time and technical equipment (Wi-fi and devices) not managed by the animators.

Nevertheless, the workshops were an excellent platform to exchange with professionals from different backgrounds, allowing us to better understand certain needs and processes, and enabling us to prioritise the functionalities under development. Several improvements have already been made thanks to the feedbacks received, for instance to allow for more efficient work within the circulation module.

The RERO central office is aware of the concerns of professionals about the changes to come and the functionalities that still need to be developed. We are doing our utmost every day to address these challenges and to take into account the needs of field professionals.

Petit bilan des ateliers RERO ILS

rero-ils ateliers
en de

13 ateliers, 11 villes, 8 cantons… et 1 seul pays bien sûr. Ainsi s’achève le cycle des ateliers d’introduction à RERO ILS débuté fin novembre 2019 et réalisé tant en Suisse alémanique qu’en Suisse romande. La centrale tire un bilan général positif de cette action.

Retour des participant·e·s

Globalement, les participant·e·s ont donné un bon retour des ateliers via notre formulaire en ligne. Sur un total de 71 réponses:

  • 66% des personnes estiment que l’atelier a bien ou très bien répondu à leurs attentes personnelles (barre du haut)
  • 76% des personnes sont globalement satisfaites ou très satisfaites (barre du bas)
Graphique: réponse aux attentes et satisfaction générale des ateliers

Réponse aux attentes et satisfaction générale des ateliers

Plusieurs participant·e·s ont rencontré et relevé des problèmes techniques parfois gênants dans le déroulement de l’atelier. Par ailleurs, des erreurs d’ergonomie ont été mises en évidence ainsi que certaines fonctions importantes qui manquaient dans le système. Beaucoup d’attentes par rapport aux autres modules (catalogage, acquisition, bulletinage) ont été exprimées.

Au sein des bibliothèques engagées dans la transition vers RERO ILS, certaines personnes ont mis le doigt sur des aspects fonctionnant de manière différente du système actuel (Virtua) et on fait part de leur inquiétude en regard de l'état actuel des développements pour la transition à venir.

Plusieurs personnes ont mis en avant l’aspect moderne et novateur de RERO ILS. L’interactivité de l’atelier a été globalement très appréciée.

Le bilan de la centrale

A la centrale, nous avons réalisé la difficulté d’organiser de tels événements sur un système en plein développement, avec des fonctionnalités qui évoluent au fil des versions et des équipements techniques (Wi-fi et appareils) non gérés par les animateurs.

Les ateliers ont néanmoins été une excellente plateforme d'échange avec des professionnel·le·s de différents milieux, permettant de mieux comprendre certains besoins et processus, et de pouvoir ainsi prioriser les fonctionnalités en développement. De nombreuses améliorations ont d’ores et déjà pu être effectuées grâce aux retours reçus, notamment pour permettre un travail plus efficace avec le module de circulation.

La centrale est consciente des inquiétudes des professionnel·le·s quant aux changements à venir et aux fonctionnalités qu’il reste à développer. Elle fait tout son possible, au quotidien, pour répondre à ces défis et prendre en compte les besoins des personnes du terrain.