A feature-rich version

rero-ils release search circulation metadata display
de fr

A new version of rero ils has been released, fairly rich in new features, which of course we are delighted about. Below is a brief summary of the main new features. The full release note, consisting mostly of technical information, is available in English on the GitHub project: v0.9.0.

Research improvement

For a long time now, the team of librarians have been insisting on this point and the pilot library tests have confirmed this: to search in a library catalogue, the default application of the boolean operator AND is expected, in order to reduce noise, even if it means there is no result. This is now completed. At the same time, the whole indexing of data and the search function have been reviewed and the improvements are significant.

Closed stacks

UCLouvain, which actively collaborates in the development of rero ils, had suggested the implementation of closed stacks, i.e. the ability to block requests or to restrict pick-up locations for a given location. After suggesting it, UCLouvain achieved that development.

Editing a location, with restrictions on the pick-up locations

Editing a location, with restrictions on the pick-up locations

Manual blocking of readers

It is now possible to block a reader manually. A free text note can be added to explain the reason for this blocking. The blocked person can no longer borrow items or place requests. In his/her account, he/she is notified of the blockage and the reason for it. The Librarian is also notified during loan transactions that are no longer possible (lending or placing a request for the reader).

Metadata and display of records

Work on implementing the data model carries on with the fields of physical description of the documents: material importance, duration, format, illustrations, colours and material elements. These fields are clearly based on the RDA standard, with a finer granularity, whereas marc used to gather different types of information within the same sub-field. While working to display these fields in the record (the detailed view of the documents), the layout has been reviewed and improved: essential information is highlighted at the top and additional bibliographical details appear in a dedicated tab.

Reorganization of the bibliographic record (professional interface)

Une version plutôt riche

rero-ils release recherche circulation métadonnées affichage
en de

Une nouvelle version de rero ils a été publiée, plutôt riche en nouvelles fonctionnalités, ce qui nous fait bien entendu plaisir. Ci-dessous, un rapide résumé des nouveautés principales. Les notes de version complètes, mais techniques, en anglais, sont disponibles sur le projet GitHub : v0.9.0.

Amélioration de la recherche

Voilà longtemps que l'équipe des bibliothécaires insistait sur ce point et les tests des bibliothèques pilotes l’ont confirmé : pour la recherche dans un catalogue de bibliothèques, on s’attend à l’application par défaut de l’opérateur booléen ET, afin de réduire le bruit, quitte à n’avoir aucun résultat. C’est désormais chose faite. Par la même occasion, l’ensemble de l’indexation des données et du fonctionnement de la recherche a été revisité et les améliorations sont sensibles.

Des silos fermés

UCLouvain, qui collabore activement au développement de rero ils, avait proposé l’implémentation des silos fermés, à savoir la possibilité de bloquer les demandes ou de restreindre les lieux de retrait pour une localisation donnée. Après l’avoir proposé, UCLouvain l’a réalisé.

Édition d’une localisation, avec des restrictions sur les lieux de retrait

Édition d’une localisation, avec des restrictions sur les lieux de retrait

Le blocage manuel des lecteurs et lectrices

Il est désormais possible de bloquer un lecteur ou une lectrice, manuellement. Une note en texte libre peut être ajoutée pour expliquer la raison du blocage. La personne bloquée ne peut plus emprunter d’ouvrages ni faire de demandes. Dans son compte, elle est avertie du blocage et de sa raison. Le ou la bibliothécaire est également notifié·e lors des transactions de prêt qui ne sont plus possibles (prêter ou faire une demande pour le lecteur ou la lectrice).

Métadonnées et affichage des notices

Le travail d’implémentation du modèle de données continue avec les champs de description physique des documents : l’importance matérielle, la durée, le format, les illustrations, les couleurs et les éléments matériels. Ces champs sont clairement basés sur le standard RDA, avec une granularité plus fine, alors que marc regroupait différents types d’informations au sein d’un même sous-champ. Lors du travail pour afficher ces champs dans la notice (la vue détaillée des documents), la présentation a été revue et améliorée : les informations essentielles sont mises en évidence en haut et les détails bibliographiques complémentaires apparaissent dans un onglet dédié.

Réorganisation de la notice bibliographique (interface professionnelle)