The RERO+ foundation is born

rero21 rero+
de fr

It is now official: RERO’s identity is evolving to meet new needs in a new library environment. RERO becomes RERO+, a foundation of private law and public interest formally created on April 29, 2021. This event represents the beginning of a new adventure for the RERO+ team and its partners.

Background

Created in 1985, RERO’s objective was to manage the emerging IT resources of academic libraries in French-speaking Switzerland. Over the years, the network has grown to include more than 200 member libraries. In 2020, the scientific and academic libraries have joined the SLSP network, itself the result of a project initiated in 2015 by the Swiss institutions of higher education.

In view of these changes, and with the support of the cantonal authorities within the CIIP (Conférence intercantonale de l’instruction publique), RERO launched its own project in 2017 to become a competence and service center for libraries, focusing on the needs of public, heritage, school and special libraries. At the same time, the development projects for the RERO ILS (Integrated Library System) and SONAR (Swiss Open Access Repository) software became underway, building the basis for the main new services proposed by the foundation. Their deployment in 2021 completes the transformation of RERO.

What changes

  • The name: RERO was originally the acronym for Réseau Romand, which later became Réseau des bibliothèques de Suisse occidentale (Library Network of Western Switzerland). Today, although still predominantly French-speaking, the institution is no longer bound by territorial criteria. The name RERO+ signifies a broadening of its activities, its services and its geographical and linguistic coverage, while keeping its identity, which has been known for more than 30 years in the Swiss information science landscape.

  • The governance: RERO+ is now under the supervision of the Foundation Board, initially composed of four representatives of the founding members:

    • Damian Elsig, president (Canton of Valais)
    • Antoine Grandjean, vice-president (Canton of Neuchâtel)
    • Géraldine Rérat-Oeuvray (Canton of Jura)
    • Thierry Petoud (City of Martigny)

    Eventually, this Council will comprise between 7 and 9 members, covering several areas of expertise and representing other stakeholders, such as strategic partners. In addition, specific governance mechanisms for RERO ILS and SONAR will be put in place in order to give their customers an active role in the design of the products.

  • Funding: RERO+ is funded exclusively through the sale of its services.

  • Activities: As has been the case for about two years, RERO+ will focus on the continued development and maintenance of its core services: the next generation library system RERO ILS and digital content management with SONAR. These software and respective services will evolve with the needs of their customers, whose circle will expand across Switzerland.

  • Missions: Evolving with the activities, the missions also cover a wider scope. RERO+ aims to promote the dissemination of knowledge, in particular through libraries, without geographical limitations. Moreover, as a foundation, RERO+ does not pursue any profit-making goal.

What remains

  • The RERO+ team: It remains essentially the same, with its extensive experience and cohesion; it does not undergo major organizational changes.

  • The partners: The collaboration with continues and intensifies, with the 58 libraries using RERO ILS (go-live on July 12), the institutions using SONAR (production version available) as well as the team of the Catholic University of Louvain in Belgium which maintains its involvement in the RERO ILS development project. Finally, RERO+ continues to cooperate with several actors of the library and information community in Switzerland and abroad, including SLSP, the Swiss National Library, ABES and the French National Library.


A word from Damian Elsig, President of the RERO+ Foundation Board

The transformation of RERO into RERO+ is a significant one. The new orientation is the result of a joint reflection, based on a market analysis and on the proven interest for customized and/or shared services of public, heritage, school and special libraries in Switzerland. RERO+ will focus its services on the needs of these types of libraries, either through the development of services or through the provision of comprehensive IT management.

The RERO+ team is based in Wallis and is composed of experts with a long experience in this field, with the customer at the center of their attention. The IT solutions are developed in open source and are based on the Invenio 3 software developed by CERN. All data is stored in Switzerland.

RERO+: a non-profit foundation labelled “Swiss-made”!


Contact person for RERO+: Miguel Moreira - direction@rero.ch

Die RERO+ Stiftung ist geboren

rero21 rero+
fr en

Jetzt ist es offiziell: die Identität von RERO entwickelt sich weiter, um neuen Bedürfnissen in einer neuen Bibliotheksumgebung gerecht zu werden. RERO wird zu RERO+, einer privatrechtlichen gemeinnützigen Stiftung, die am 29. April 2021 formell gegründet wurde. Dieses Ereignis ist der Beginn eines neuen Abenteuers für das RERO+ Team und seine Partner.

Entstehung

RERO wurde 1985 mit dem Ziel gegründet, die entstehenden IT-Ressourcen der wissenschaftlichen Bibliotheken in der französischsprachigen Schweiz zu verwalten. Im Laufe der Jahre ist der Verbund auf mehr als 200 Mitgliedsbibliotheken angewachsen. Im Jahr 2020 haben sich die wissenschaftlichen und akademischen Bibliotheken dem SLSP-Verbund angeschlossen, welcher seinerseits das Ergebnis eines 2015 von den Schweizer Hochschulen initiierten Projekts ist.

Angesichts dieser Veränderungen und mit Unterstützung der kantonalen Behörden im Rahmen des CIIP (Conférence intercantonale de l’instruction publique : Interkantonale Erziehungsdirektorenkonferenz) startete RERO 2017 ein eigenes Projekt, um sich in ein Kompetenz- und Servicezentrum für Bibliotheken zu verwandeln, das sich auf die Bedürfnisse von öffentlichen, Kantons-, Schul- und Spezialbibliotheken konzentriert. Parallel dazu wurden die Entwicklungsprojekte für die Softwares RERO ILS (Integrated Library System) und SONAR (Swiss Open Access Repository) gestartet, die die Grundlage für die wichtigsten neuen Dienstleistungen der Stiftung bilden werden. Ihre Einführung im Jahr 2021 schliesst die Transformation von RERO ab.

Was sich ändert

  • Name: RERO war ursprünglich das Akronym für Réseau Romand, das später zum Réseau des bibliothèques de Suisse occidentale (Westschweizer Bibliotheksverbund) wurde. Heute ist die Institution, obwohl sie immer noch überwiegend französischsprachig ist, nicht mehr an territoriale Kriterien gebunden. Der Name RERO+ bedeutet eine Erweiterung ihrer Aktivitäten, ihrer Dienstleistungen sowie ihrer geografischen und sprachlichen Abdeckung, während sie gleichzeitig ihre Identität beibehält, die seit mehr als 30 Jahren in der Schweizer Informationslandschaft bekannt ist.

  • Governance: RERO+ steht nun unter der Aufsicht des Stiftungsrates, der sich zunächst aus vier Vertretern der Gründungsmitglieder zusammensetzt:

    • Damian Elsig, Präsident (Kanton Wallis)
    • Antoine Grandjean, Vizepräsident (Kanton Neuenburg)
    • Géraldine Rérat-Oeuvray (Kanton Jura)
    • Thierry Petoud (Stadt Martigny)

    Danach wird dieser Rat zwischen 7 und 9 Mitglieder haben, die mehrere Kompetenzbereiche abdecken und andere Interessengruppen, wie z. B. strategische Partner, vertreten. Darüber hinaus werden spezielle Steuerungsmechanismen für RERO ILS und SONAR eingerichtet, um deren Kunden eine aktive Rolle bei der Gestaltung der Produkte zu geben.

  • Finanzierungsmodell: RERO+ wird ausschliesslich durch den Verkauf seiner Dienste finanziert.

  • Aktivitäten: Wie schon seit etwa zwei Jahren wird sich RERO+ auf die Weiterentwicklung und Pflege seiner Kerndienste konzentrieren: das Bibliotheksmanagementsystem der nächsten Generation RERO ILS und die Verwaltung digitaler Inhalte mit SONAR. Diese Softwareprodukte und die entsprechenden Dienstleistungen werden sich mit den Bedürfnissen ihrer Kunden weiterentwickeln, deren Kreis sich auf die gesamte Schweiz ausdehnen wird.

  • Missionen: Mit den Aktivitäten entwickeln sich auch die Missionen, die einen grösseren Bereich abdecken. RERO+ zielt darauf ab, die Verbreitung und Weitergabe von Wissen zu fördern, insbesondere durch Bibliotheken, ohne geografische Einschränkungen. Ausserdem verfolgt RERO+ als Stiftung keine gewinnorientierten Ziele.

Was bleibt

  • Das RERO+ Team: Es bleibt im Wesentlichen dasselbe, mit seiner umfangreichen Erfahrung und seinem Zusammenhalt; es erfährt keine grossen organisatorischen Veränderungen.

  • Die Partner: Die Zusammenarbeit wird fortgesetzt und intensiviert, mit den 58 Bibliotheken, die RERO ILS nutzen (Go-Live am 12. Juli), den Institutionen, die SONAR einsetzen (Produktionsversion verfügbar) sowie dem Team der Katholischen Universität Leuven in Belgien, das seine Beteiligung am Entwicklungsprojekt von RERO ILS beibehält. Schliesslich arbeitet RERO+ weiterhin mit verschiedenen Akteuren der Bibliotheks- und Informationswelt in der Schweiz und im Ausland zusammen, vor allem mit SLSP, der Schweizerischen Nationalbibliothek, ABES und der Bibliothèque nationale de France.


Ein Wort von Damian Elsig, Präsident des Vorstands der RERO+ Stiftung

Die Umwandlung von RERO in RERO+ ist ein bedeutender Schritt. Die Neuausrichtung ist das Ergebnis gemeinsamer Überlegungen, basierend auf einer Marktanalyse und dem erwiesenen Interesse an massgeschneiderten und/oder gemeinsamen Dienstleistungen für öffentliche, Kantons-, Schul- und Spezialbibliotheken in der Schweiz. RERO+ wird seine Dienstleistungen auf die Bedürfnisse dieser Arten von Bibliotheken ausrichten, entweder durch die Entwicklung von Services oder durch die Bereitstellung von globalen IT-Lösungen.

Das RERO+ Team hat seinen Sitz im Wallis und besteht aus Spezialisten mit langjähriger Erfahrung in diesem Bereich, wobei der Kunde im Mittelpunkt steht.

Die IT-Lösungen werden in Open Source entwickelt und basieren auf der vom CERN entwickelten Software Invenio 3. Alle Daten werden in der Schweiz gespeichert.

RERO+: eine gemeinnützige Stiftung mit dem Swiss-Made Siegel!


Kontaktperson für RERO+: Miguel Moreira - direction@rero.ch